Yesterday was day 30 of the #writeandrun31 challenge group on Facebook. Am I glad I took part? Did it inspire me? Have I been writing? Did I run? Which was more difficult?

Before

  • I only wrote 5 posts in my blog in 2014
  • No running since the Marikenloop 5km run in May 2014, except 15 minutes on the treadmill after a functional circuit class
  • Gym 5 days a week when I’m not translating (or working in our front garden allotment in the summer)

???????????????? ??????????

Results

  • Published 9 blog posts, most of which didn’t have anything to do with running or the supposed topic of my blog, being an expat in the Netherlands
  • Wrote another 14 or so blog posts in draft form
  • Wrote down lots of ideas and quick thoughts for more things to write about
  • Went to the gym and ran far less than I wanted to because I had a cold for a week and had several days where I was translating flat out
  • Went running twice, once in the evening round the local park and once through the muddy woods on a cold winter afternoon

Things I discovered:

  • I can sit down with an idea and write 1000 words without stopping
  • It’s easy to write about my life and things that have happened to me, but if I’m writing something factual, it takes much longer; I have to fact check
  • Personal memories and opinions get published, factual articles stay as drafts
  • Writing is much easier than running
  • Writing gives me more ideas, when I’m reading, when I’m working, when I wake up in the morning
  • Going to the gym is relatively easy, but if I leave it until the evening, it won’t happen
  • I can run in the cold, through muddy woods and in the dark
  • I can run 6.2 km (3.8 miles) easily at a slow pace even without training specifically for running

What next?

There are lots of people who want to carry on for another month or maybe the whole year. Not everyone wants to run. Some people have suggested #createandrun28 for February.

How about #moveandcreate? Number of days irrelevant.

